What the scores mean

Exposure levels

The task scores and exposure scores are intended to:

  • Help prioritise those tasks that require the most urgent attention; and
  • Help check the effectiveness of any risk reduction measures put into place.

The colours assigned to the risk factors help identify where to focus risk reduction measures.

Three exposure levels are proposed to help interpret the exposure scores. They describe the level of urgency for further investigation and improvement of the task.

Exposure Score Proposed exposure level
0-11 Low Consider individual circumstances
12-21 Medium Further investigation required
22 or more High Further investigation required urgently

Even where the exposure level is low, the vulnerability of special groups should be considered. For example:

  • New and expectant mothers
  • Employees that are new or returning to work after a period of absence
  • Employees that are having difficulties with the work

Individual adjustments to the work may still be needed to help accommodate these people. The exposure levels are based on practical experience and have been benchmarked to other methods available for upper limb assessment.

The scores separating the exposure levels should not be interpreted as precise boundaries. It would not be a good use of time worrying about whether the task has an exposure score of 21 or 22 (a medium or a high exposure level).

The most important thing is the process of assessment.

  • Have you identified the significant risks?
  • Have you taken action to reduce the level of risk as far as reasonably practicable?

You have now covered most of the the material on how to use ART.

At this point, we recommend you try it out if you have not already done so - Then return to the topic of analysing task rotation when you are familiar with how to use ART in practice.

Is this page useful?

Updated: 2021-10-11