Application to Cadets

The cadet forces are community based, voluntary organisations,that promote the personal and social development of young people in the age range 12 – 18 years. Using trained volunteer adult staff, they offer a varied range of activities, drawing on the relevant services but modified so as to be developmental processes.  There are 4 main cadet forces: Sea Cadet Corps, Army Cadet Force, Air Training Corps, and the Combined Cadet Force (CCF). 

The Army Cadet Forces and Air Training Corps are regarded as being part of MOD's undertaking and therefore MOD has duties under the HSW Act but the Sea Cadets and CCF are not – although MOD still has duties to its employees working with these organizations.

The MOD has the overall duty of care to ensure the safety of all cadets who take part in training activities under its auspices.   

Is this page useful?

Updated 2021-04-29