Standard Industrial Classification 2007 (SIC 2007)

HSE classifies industries using SIC 2007 to group businesses by their activity. This is based on internationally agreed standards1 to ensure that data is compatible.

HSE groups industries in this way to enable us to consistently:

  • monitor trends in health and safety;
  • target businesses of a particular type in our inspections and programmes; and
  • to produce meaningful statistics.

Where can I find out more?

You can find out more about SIC2007 at the Office for National Statistics website.


1. European Union's industrial classification system (NACE) and the UN International Standard Industrial Classification of Economic Activities (ISIC).Back to reference of footnote 1

Is this page useful?

Updated 2021-05-10