This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Standard Industrial Classification 2007 (SIC 2007)


Since April 2010 HSE has classified industries using SIC 2007 rather than SIC 1992 and SIC 2003. Earlier data, collected using SIC 1992/2003, has been computer recoded into SIC 2007 to show trends. There may be errors as a result of such recoding and we will identify any series which are significantly affected.


In April 2010 HSE began to use the SIC 2007 industry classification scheme. This page explains:

What is SIC 2007?

We have been using a Standard Industrial Classification to group businesses by their activity since before the Health and Safety at Work Act. (We need to group industries to enable us to target businesses of a particular type in our inspections and programmes as well as to produce meaningful statistics).

Why are we changing it?

The classification scheme has been updated regularly since its introduction in 1948 as the mix of industry and commerce has changed. Since 1992 it has been consistent with the European industry classification scheme (NACE) which, in turn, is based on the United Nations International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC). (The UK is required to implement changes to NACE and the Office of National Statistics coordinated the change over.)

What are the key changes?

The changes between SIC (2003) and SIC (2007) are too numerous to list but, key ones include:

What are the implications of the changes?

Where can I find out more?

You can find out more about the change and SIC2007 at the Office for National Statistics website.


1. Mostly because agriculture is so important in many developing countries and SIC2007 is based on an international standard (ISIC).

Updated 2017-10-26