Building control professional codes and standards

The Building Safety Regulator (BSR) oversees building control bodies (individual professionals, local authorities, and registered building control approvers).

Building control bodies and professionals must follow mandatory codes and standards for building control.

The codes and standards will be updated from time to time. You should refer to the latest online versions and not rely on previously printed versions.  

Competency assessment extension period

From 6 April to 6 July 2024 there is an extension period for experienced building inspectors in England who have not yet completed their competency assessment.

RBIs eligible for the extension period must meet all the following criteria:

  • you are an existing building control professional
  • you are registered as a Class 1 RBI by 6 April 2024
  • you are enrolled in, and in the process of having your competency assessed through, one of the BSR approved competence assessment schemes by 6 April 2024
  • a scheme provider has not told you that you have not passed your competency assessment for a second time

Registered building inspectors (RBIs) eligible for the extension period can continue to work on regulated building control activities for the class of RBI they are undertaking a competency assessment for. More information about the extension period and how it applies to the professional codes and standards can be found in the relevant documents.

Is this page useful?

Updated 2024-04-03