The Control of Major Accident Hazards Regulations 2015 (COMAH15) came into force on 1 June 2015.

COMAH15 regulations implement the majority of the Seveso III Directive (Council Directive 2012/18/EU and replace the Control of Major Accident Hazard Regulations 1999.

Land-use planning requirements of the Directives are implemented by separate land-use planning legislation that is the responsibility of the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, the Scottish Executive, and the National Assembly for Wales.

COMAH applies mainly to the chemical industry, but also to some storage activities, explosives and nuclear sites, and other industries where the threshold quantities of dangerous substances identified in the Regulations are kept or used.

Is this page useful?