This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Social media

Javascript is required to use HSE website social media functionality.

Seveso III Directive

Chemical plant

The Seveso Directive (currently The Seveso II Directive) is the main piece of EU legislation that deals specifically with the control of on-shore major accident hazards involving dangerous substances. The Seveso II Directive will be replaced by the Seveso III Directive on 1 June 2015.  In order to implement the new Directive, the COMAH Regulations 1999 will be repealed and replaced by the COMAH Regulations 2015 on 1 June 2015

Draft legal guidance on the new COMAH Regulations 2015

Working in partnership


HSE, the Environment Agency, SEPA and NRW – working in partnership as the COMAH Competent Authority.

Updated: 2015-03-20