This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Beta This is a new way of showing guidance - your feedback will help us improve it.

Seveso III Directive

The Seveso Directives are the main EU legislation dealing specifically with the control of on-shore major accident hazards involving dangerous substances. The Seveso III Directive came into force on 1 June 2015, replacing the Seveso II Directive.  To implement this Directive, the COMAH Regulations 1999 (as amended) have been revoked and replaced by the COMAH Regulations 2015.

Legal guidance on COMAH Regulations 2015

Working in partnership

HSE, ONR, the Environment Agency, SEPA and NRW – working in partnership as the COMAH Competent Authority.

Updated: 2017-06-27