Working with local authorities in Scotland

In Scotland there are 32 unitary Local Authorities. Local authorities operate in partnership with HSE to ensure that duty holders manage their workplaces with due regard to the health and safety of their workforce and those affected by their work activities. To achieve this, local authorities provide advice and guidance on what the law requires, conduct inspections and investigations, and take enforcement action where appropriate.

As an Enforcing Authority, the authority has a responsibility for the provision of health and safety enforcement services covering a range of businesses, mainly within the service sector . The types of businesses involved in health and safety enforcement include the following:

  • Retail
  • Wholesale
  • Offices
  • Catering
  • Hotels
  • Residential care homes
  • leisure and consumer services eg. launderettes, hairdressers, undertakers, shoe repair, tyre and exhaust fitters and churches.

See the COSLA website and the Local Authority Enforcement Code for more information.

Is this page useful?

Updated: 2021-10-06