Beta This is a new way of showing guidance - your feedback will help us improve it.

Offshore Major Accident Hazards Advisory Committee (OMAHAC)

(Previously known as - Offshore Industry Advisory Committee)

The Offshore Major Accident Hazards Advisory Committee (OMAHAC) was established in March 2016 to meet the requirements of the Directive 2013/30/EU on the safety of offshore oil and gas operations. The Directive required member states to establish mechanisms for effective tripartite consultation to consider major accident hazard prevention and associated environmental issues. The members of the Offshore Industry Advisory Committee (OIAC) sanctioned OIAC to be re-constituted to evolve into a strategic focused committee with revised Terms of Reference and new Ways of Working.

OMAHAC is a tripartite committee that includes members who represent regulators, operators and owners and worker representatives. It will support the work of the Offshore Safety Directive Regulator (OSDR) in the management and control of offshore major accident hazards.

To contact OMAHAC please write to:

OMAHAC Secretary
Health and Safety Executive,
Lord Cullen House,
Fraser Place,
AB25 3UB

Further Information

More about the Offshore Major Accident Hazards Advisory Committee

Updated 2021-02-24