This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Energy Division

Energy Division comprises three distinct business units, with different responsibilities:

Offshore industry

Regulating the risks to health and safety arising from work activity in the Offshore Industry on the UK Continental Shelf - ranging from unmanned gas platforms to large oil and gas production platforms, and floating production installations and drilling rigs.

Gas and pipelines

Regulating the natural gas supply industry and industries transporting hazardous substances by pipeline. This includes upstream natural gas transmission and distribution networks; gas import and storage facilities; onshore major hazard pipelines; offshore pipelines; and other associated high hazard sites.


Regulating underground mines, the mines rescue service and cableways in England, Scotland and Wales. This includes coal and non-coal mines, tourist mines, and mines used for storage and waste disposal. It also inspects mines in Northern Ireland, under an agency agreement.

Updated 2017-04-11