This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Explosive liaison officers – national contacts

This page lists the explosive liaison officers for Great Britain. The list was compiled from information available at 1 October 2014.

Force Name Address Telephone Number Fax Number email
Avon & Somerset Mike Cox Licensing Bureau (F), P.O. Box 3115, Bristol, BS1 9GF 01179 455157
(mob) 07789 752676
0117 945 5174 mike.cox@avonandsomerset.pnn.police.uk
Bedfordshire  See Hertfordshire     N/A  
Cambridgeshire    Ralph Barker Firearms Licensing  Department, Constabulary Headquarters, Hinchingbrooke Park, Huntingdon, PE29 6NP 01480 422707 01480 422869 ralph.barker@cambs.pnn.police.uk
Alan Dobson 01223 823717   (mob) 07712 489551 alan.dobson@cambs.pnn.police.uk
Jonathan Saggers 01733 424301   (mob) 07740 832835 jonathan.saggers@cambs.pnn.police.uk
Cheshire Sharon Deighton Police Headquarters,
Firearms Licensing,
Clemonds Hey,
Oakmere Road,
Winsford, Cheshire CW7 2UA
01606 362243
(mob) 07762 774285
01244 612127 sharon.deighton@cheshire.pnn.police.uk
Greg Walsh 01606 365045 gregory.walsh@cheshire.pnn.police.uk
Jed Ilott 1606 365046 gerald.ilott@cheshire.pnn.police.uk
Michael Hunt 1606 365185 michael.hunt@cheshire.pnn.police.uk
Chris Hornsey 1606 365186 chris.hornsey@cheshire.pnn.police.uk
City of London VACANT - Contact for queries Mr John Hall Licensing Officer, Walbrook Wharf,
78-83 Upper Thames Street,
London EC4R  3TD
020 7601 2748 N/A  
Cleveland   Bruce McKnight Firearms Licensing, Criminal Justice Department, Police HQ  PO Box70, Ladgate Lane, Middlesborough TS8 9EH 01642 301352
(mob) 07899 945202
01642 301691 Bruce.McKnight@cleveland.police.uk
Cumbria    Alison Jackson Police Headquarters, Carleton Hall, Penrith, Cumbria, CA10 2AU 01768 217016 01768 217017 alison.jackson@cumbria.pnn.police.uk
Peter Hewitt peter.hewitt@cumbria.pnn.police.uk
Derbyshire Robin Gray Chesterfield Divisional Headquarters, New Beetwell Street, Chesterfield S40 1QP 01246 522063
(mob) 07711  442335
01246 522020 robin.gray.16089@derbyshire.pnn.police.uk
Devon & Cornwall Dave Mathias Explosive Liaison Officer, Devon & Cornwall Constabulary, Middlemoor, Exeter EX2  7HQ 01392 452205  (mob) 07786 258235 01392 452973 david.mathias@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
Liz Brown Assistant Explosive Liaison Officer, Devon & Cornwall Constabulary, Middlemoor, Exeter EX2  7HQ 01392 452205 01392 452973 elizabeth.brown@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
Dorset Liz Adair Firearms Licensing, Dorset Police Headquarters, Winfrith, Dorchester, Dorset, DT2 8DZ 01305 222951 01305 277611 elizabeth.adair@dorset.pnn.police.uk
Julie Welch 01305 227614 julie.welch@dorset.pnn.police.uk
Jerry Ireland 01305 226676 jerry.ireland@dorset.pnn.police.uk
Danny Bothwick 01202 223024 danny.bothwick@dorset.pnn.police.uk
Durham  Mark Reynolds Firearms/Explosives Liaison Officer, Community Justice Department, Police Headquarters, Aykley Heads, Durham DH1 5TT 0191 375 2783 0191 375 2280 mark.reynolds@durham.pnn.police.uk
Dyfed Powys Helen Rees Firearms Licensing Department, Police Headquarters,  PO Box 99, Llangunnor,  Carmarthen,  SA31 2PF  01267 226480  (Mob) 07891 786920 01267 226488 helen.rees@dyfed-powys.pnn.police.uk
Rachel Amphlett 01267 226486 rachel.amphlett@dyfed-powys.pnn.police.uk
Brian Willey  07980 726193 Contactable via the  email address of Helen Rees
John Harries 07970 146721
Essex  Paul Quinton Essex Police Headquarters, PO Box 2, Springfield, Chelmsford, Essex CM2 6DA 01245 502011 (Mob) 07870 654759 01245 452157 paul.quinton@essex.pnn.police.uk
Gloucestershire Les Spice Firearms  &  Explosives Licensing Department, Criminal Justice Department, Gloucester Central Police Station, Longsmith Street, Gloucester GL1  2JP 01452 335105  (mob) 07958 722122 01452 335356 Leslie.Spice@gloucestershire.pnn.police.uk  (alt) Firearms.licensing@gloucestershire.police.uk
Brynmor Wilkinson 01452 335261 (mob)07872 828485 brynmor.wilkinson@gloucestershire.pnn.police.uk
Greater Manchester Joe Frangleton Firearms Licensing Section, Openshaw Complex, Lawton Street, Manchester, M11 2NS 0161 856 0805 0161 856 0822 joe.frangleton@gmp.pnn.police.uk
Gwent Gina Gossman Firearms Licensing Manager Force Headquarters, Croesyceiliog, Cwmbran, Torfaen, NP44  2XJ 01495 745492 01495 768455 gina.gossman@gwent.pnn.police.uk
Lindon Pearton Explosive Liaison and FEO, Force Headquarters, Croesyceiliog, Cwmbran, Torfaen, NP44  2XJ 01495 745495 lindon.pearton@gwent.pnn.police.uk
Hampshire Mark Groothuis Police Headquarters, West Hill, Winchester, Hampshire, SO22 5DB 01962 871507 01962 871188 firearms.licensing@hampshire.pnn.police.uk
Hertfordshire & Bedfordshire  Peter Taylor Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire Firearms Licensing Unit,
Harpenden Police Station,
Vaughan Road,
Harpenden,
Hertfordshire, AL5 4GZ

General Enquiries:
bedsandhertsflu@herts.pnn.police.uk 
01707 806126 01707 806140 peter.taylor@herts.pnn.police.uk
Eddie Broadhead  01707 806126 eddie.broadhead@herts.pnn.police.uk
Greg Taylor 01727 796203   (mob) 07736 084616 greg.taylor@herts.pnn.police.uk
Humberside  Robin Cowles Tower Grange Police Station, Holderness Road, Hull, Humberside HU8 9HP 01482 597487 01482 597572 robin.cowles@humberside.pnn.police.uk
Steve Ward 01482 597424 steven.ward@humberside.pnn.police.uk
Jayne Collins 01482 597477 jayne.collins@humberside.pnn.police.uk
Isle of Man Stuart Barker Isle of Man Constabulary, Firearms Licensing Department, Glencrutchery Road, Douglas, IOM 01624 631378   stuart.barker@gov.im
Kent   Richard Gould Firearms & Explosives Enquiry Officer,  Police Station, Gordon Road, Herne Bay, Kent CT6 5QU 01227 744745   Mob: 07980 683465 01227 740769 richard.gould@kent.pnn.police.uk
Nigel Garland Police Station, Church Street, Faversham, Kent ME13 8AL 01795 433014 No email
Arthur Cannadine 01795 433013 arthur.cannadine@kent.pnn.police.uk
John Delieu Police Office, Edenbridge High Street, Edenbridge, Kent TN8  5AB 01732 379367 john.delieu@kent.pnn.police.uk
Tony Rowlinson Police Station, Tufton Stret, Ashford, Kent, TN23 1BT 01233 896131 No email
Michael Toy Police Station, Wheatfield Drive,Cranbrook, Kent TN17 3LU 01580 711010  Mob: 07980 683458 53775@kent.pnn.police.uk
Michael Whitehead Police Headquarters, Sutton Road, Maidstone, Kent, ME19 5BZ 01622 652506 01622 652519 No email
Lancashire  Andrea Ayoglu Firearms Assistant, Operations H Division, PO Box 77, Hutton, Preston, Lancashire PR4  5SB 01772 412417 andrea.ayoglu@lancashire.pnn.police.uk
Phil Kelly Firearms Enquiry Officers, Operations H Division, PO Box 77, Hutton, Preston, Lancashire PR4  5SB 01772 412890  phil.kelly@lancashire.pnn.police.uk
Roman Hrachowina 07984 654010 roman.hrachowina@lancashire.pnn.police.uk
Davina Helm 07984 654021 davina.helm@lancashire.pnn.police.uk
Simon Vann 07788 722158 simon.vann@lancashire.pnn.police.uk
Leicestershire Paul Mummery  Licensing Department, Leicestershire Constabulary, Mansfield House, 74, Belgrave Gate, Leicester LE1 3GG 0116 248 4333 0116 248 4394 firearms.licensing@leicestershire.pnn.police.uk
John Toon
Rebecca Spicer (mob)
07766 471496
rebecca.spicer@leicestershire.pnn.police.uk
Lincolnshire Helen Wilkie Police Headquarters, Firearms Licensing Department, PO Box 999, Lincoln, LN5  7PH 01522 558081 or 558165/66/67 01522 558024 helen.wilkie@lincs.pnn.police.uk
Dave Phillips 07831 877436 01522 558029 dave.phillips@lincs.pnn.police.uk
Merseyside Janet Jones Firearms & Explosives Licensing Department. PO Box 59, Canning Place, Liverpool L69 1JD 0151 777 8477 0151 777 8485 janet.jones@merseyside.pnn.police.uk
Ruth Hankin 0151 777 8478 0151 777 8485 ruth.hankin@merseyside.pnn.police.uk
Bob Stevens 0151 777 8479 0151 777 8485 robert.w.stevens@merseyside.pnn.police.uk
Metropolitan Mark Antill (C.Insp) Firearms Licensing Policy Officer, CO19 FET, Room D4.05, 74-78, Leman Street, London, E1 8EU 020 7275 4877 Mob 07768 008606 0207 275 3590 mark.antill@met.police.uk
MPS Explosives Lead Steve A Whitehead SC&019
Empress State Building,
Lillie Road
London, SW6 1TR
0207 161 3897
(mob) 07879 890844
  steve.w.whitehead@met.pnn.police.uk
Amjad Sharif (mob) 07768 560648 amjad.sharif@met.police.uk
Bryan Armstrong (mob) 07768 560621 bryan.armstrong@met.police.uk
Simon Hillen (mob) 07768 694501 simon.hillen@met.police.uk
Phil Metcalfe (mob) 07826 532662 philip.metcalfe@met.police.uk
Mike Powter 0207 161 3700 michael.powter2@met.police.uk
Simon Thompson simon.thompson3@met.police.uk
Wayne Cruickshank 07876 148580 wayne.crickshank@met.police.uk
Carl Mudge 07879 890358 carl.mudge@met.police.uk
Stan Hanson 0207 161 3700 stan.hanson@met.police.uk
Steve Scott steven.scott@met.police.uk
Ann Roberts ann.roberts@met.police.uk
Tony Dunn tony.dunn@met.police.uk
Peter Stubberfield peter.stubberfield@met.police.uk
Mick Graham mick.graham@met.police.uk
Mick Matthews michael.matthews2@met.police.uk
Zoe Bender zoe.bender@met.police.uk
Paul Gilbert paul.gilbert@met.police.uk
Norfolk Dave Greenacre Joint Firearms Licensing Unit Norfolk & Suffolk,
Operations & Communications Centre,
Falconer's Chase,
Wymondham
Norfolk, NR18 0WW
01953 424141   greenacred@norfolk.pnn.police.uk
North Wales Richard Smith North Wales Police,
Administration of Justice Department
PO Box 100
Prestatyn, LL19 0BH
01745 539394
(mob)07896 170536
01745 539632 richard.smith2@nthwales.pnn.police.uk
North Yorkshire Martyn Kay Firearms & Explosive Licensing, Police Headquarters, Newby Wiske Hall, Northallerton, North Yorkshire DL7 9HA 07764 362704
01609 789634 danny.kay@northyorkshire.pnn.police.uk
Northamptonshire Andi Jamieson Firearms Enquiry and Force Explosives Officer, Wootton Hall, Northampton, NN4 0JD 07709 480394 01604 888641 andi.jamieson@northants.pnn.police.uk
Northumbria  Phil Lee Firearms & Explosives Licensing Cordinator,  01661 861841 01661 861803 phil.lee.5795@northumbria.pnn.police.uk
Carol Gould Support Services Supervisor,
Central Information Bureau, Forum Way, Cramlington, Northumbria, NE23 6SB
01661 861880 carol.gould.9690@northumbria.pnn.police.uk
Nottinghamshire  Paul Casey HQ(CJ) Criminal Justice Department,
Sherwood Lodge
Arnold,
Nottinghamshire
NG5 8PP
0115 9670999
  paul.casey@nottinghamshire.pnn.police.uk
Paul Varley paul.varley@nottinghamshire.pnn.police.uk
Police Service of Northern Ireland Ken Law Dep. Head, Firearms & Explosives Branch, Lisnasharragh, 42, Montgomery Road, Belfast BT6 9LD 028 9092 2831   firearms@psni.pnn.police.uk
Police Scotland Steve White AIExpE (National Rep) Police Scotland Firearms & Explosive’s Licensing
Fettes Avenue, Edinburgh, EH4 1RB
 0131 311 3203   steve.white@scotland.pnn.police.uk
Ewan McBride Police Scotland Firearms & Explosive’s Licensing
Fettes Avenue, Edinburgh, EH4 1RB
 0131 311 3203 ewan.mcbride@scotland.pnn.police.uk
South Wales Sara Williams** South Wales Constabulary, Firearms and Explosive Licensing, Police Headquarters, Bridgend, CF31 3SU 01656 869244 01656 869429 sara.williams@south-wales.pnn.police.uk
Helen Thompson 01656 869244 helen.thompson@south-wales.pnn.police.uk
Malcolm Lowe 01656 869244  (mob) 07870 575379 malcolm.lowe@south-wales.pnn.police.uk
Nigel Brown 01656 869244 (mob) 07977 496023 nigel.brown2@south-wales.pnn.police.uk
Gareth Evans 01656 869244 (mob) 07870 238095 gareth.evans2@south-wales.pnn.police.uk
South Yorkshire David McLeod (assistant manager) Firearms Licensing Dept, South Yorkshire Police HQ,Carbrook House, 5 Carbrook Hall Road, Sheffield S9 2EH.
0114 2011542 or 07747641198   david.mcleod@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
Russ Batty FEO/ELO Maltby Police Station, Byford Rd, Maltby, Rotherham S66 8ER. 0114 2011542 or 07747641198 russell.batty@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
David McEwan Doncaster Police Station, College Road, Doncaster DN1 3HX 01302 385067 (mob) 07810055941 dave.mcewan@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
John Trewick 01302 385024  (mob) 07810 055942 john.trewick@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
Ian Moss Barnsley Police Station, Churchfields, Barnsley S70 2DL  01226 736067  (mob) 07810 055946 ian.moss@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
Pc Peter Greenhough Moss Way Police Station, Moss Way, Sheffield S20 7XX. 0781 0055 940 peter.greenhough@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
  07747 641198  
Staffordshire Bretton Oakes Staffordshire Police, Firearms & Explosive Licensing, Weston Road, Stafford ST18 0YY 01785 232790
(mob) 07977 529919
01785 218722 bretton.oakes@staffordshire.pnn.police.uk
Andrea Tambs 01785 232790
(mob) 07990 530608
andrea.tambs@staffordshire.pnn.police.uk
Suffolk Richard Kennett Joint Firearms Manager
Norfolk & Suffolk Constabularies
01473 613608
(mob) 07894 177270
01473 613683 richard.kennett@suffolk.pnn.police.uk
Chris Knevett Joint Firearms Licensing Unit
Norfolk & Suffolk,
Police Headquarters'
Martlesham Heath
Ipswich
Suffolk IP5 3QS
01473 613681   chris.knevett@suffolk.pnn.police.uk
Gill Osborne gill.osborne@suffolk.pnn.police.uk
Surrey Steve Stilwell Explosives Liaison Officer, Surrey Police, Mount Browne, Sandy Lane, Guildford, GU3 1HG 01483 638543 01483 634574 stilwell14590@surrey.pnn.police.uk  or firearmslic@surrey.pnn.police.uk
Sussex Carol Pople Firearms & Explosives Licensing Manager, Sussex Police Headquarters, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 2DZ 01273 404108 01273 404228 carol.pople@sussex.pnn.police.uk
Peter Brown Firearms Enquiry Officer, Heathfield Police Station, High Street, Heathfield, East Sussex TN19 0UP 01435 864539
(mob) 07917 257382
  peter.brown@sussex.pnn.police.uk
Tim Rose Firearms Enquiry Officer, Chichester Police Station, Kingsham Road, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 2AD 01243 520219   timothy.rose@sussex.pnn.police.uk
Mike Tuppeney Firearms Enquiry Officer, Heathfield Police Station, High Street, Heathfield, East Sussex TN19 0UP 01435 865452   mike.tuppeney@sussex.pnn.police.uk
Steve White  Firearms Enquiry Officer,
Horsham Police Station,
Hurst Road, Horsham,
West Sussex, RH12 2DJ
01243 520288
(Mob) 774045
  stephen.white@sussex.pnn.police.uk
Tayside David Hunter Tayside Police, Firearms Administration Office, Police Headquarters, West Bell Street, Dundee DD1 9JU 01382 596850 01382 596859 david.hunter@tayside.pnn.police.uk
Thames Valley  Paul Brightwell** Firearms & Explosives Licensing Department, Police Headquarters, Oxford Road, Kidlington, Oxfordshire OX5 2NS 01865 293813   (mob) 07974 987139 01865 293826 paul.brightwell@thamesvalley.pnn.police.uk
Warwickshire Les Buckler Firearms Enquiry Officer/Explosive Liaison Officer, Firearms Licensing Department, PO Box 4, Leekwootton, Warwick,  CV35 7QB 01926 415 246 01926 415259 Leslie.Buckler@warwickshire.pnn.police.uk
West Mercia Mike Colcombe Firearms Licensing Department, Malvern Police Station, Victoria Road, Malvern WR14 2TE 01905 727547
Mob 07771 602845  (FLM/AFM 01905 727528/527)
01905 755709 e-mail can be sent c/o: christopher.himsworth@westmercia.pnn.police.uk 
West Midlands Paul Bucknall Police HQ, PO Box52, Lloyd House, Colmore Circus,  Birmingham B4 6NQ 0121 626 5116    (mob) 07770 688390 0121 626 5651 p.bucknall@west-midlands.pnn.police.uk
West Yorkshire Fiona Smith Explosive Liaison Officer, Firearms Licensing , Police Headquarters, PO Box 9, Wakefield, WF1 3QP 01924 292309 01924 292236 fiona.smith@westyorkshire.pnn.police.uk
Wiltshire Mary Kerr Firearms and Explosives Licensing Department
Police Headquarters
London Road
Devizes
Wiltshire
SP4  9PP
01380 734210 01672 517804 mary.kerr@wiltshire.pnn.police.uk
Peter Bowerbank 01380 734205 peter.bowerbank@wiltshire.pnn.police.uk
Jason Laird 01225 794675 jason.laird@wiltshire.pnn.police.uk
Updated 2015-02-18