This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Safety and health in mines research advisory board

Annual Review 1998


Mr B Langdon, HM Chief Inspector of Mines.
Industry Representative Members
Mr P McNestry, National Secretary, National Association of Colliery Overmen, Deputies and Shotfirers;
Mr R Young, President, the British Association of Colliery Management;
Mr N Greatrex, President, the Union of Democratic Mineworkers;
Mr W Rowell, Managing Director, RJB Mining (UK) Ltd;
Mr J Sorbie, Managing Director, Midlands Mining Ltd;
Mr J Brown, Health and Safety Manager, Scottish Coal Company Ltd;
Mr J Ainley, Vice-Chairman, the Federation of Independent Mines;
one vacancy, open to a nominee of the Trades Union Congress;
Adviser members
Dr D Buchanan, Chief Executive, Health and Safety Laboratory;
Mr K S Harrison, Head of Mining Policy, HSE;
Mr R G Siddall, past president of the Institution of Mining Engineers;
Dr S Afacan, Medical Director, Business Health Care Ltd;
Prof N Jones, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Liverpool;
Prof K Dunham, Department of Mineral Resources Engineering, University of Nottingham;
Mr W E Hindmarsh, Deputy Managing Director, International Mining Consultants Ltd;
Mr P Deakin, Vice President, Association of British Mining Equipment Companies.
Others who contributed to SMRAB meetings during 1998
Dr A Jones, Operations Director, Health and Safety Laboratory;
Mr N Pearce, Midlands Mining Ltd;
Mr S Bennett, Director, IMC Technical Services Ltd;
Dr D Bigby, Manager, Instrumentation and Research Rock Mechanics Technology Ltd
Mr G Gilmour, HM Inspector of Mines, Technical Secretary to SMRAB;
Mr N Hill, Administrative Officer, HSE, Minutes Secretary;

SMRAB Secretariat
HM Inspectorate of Mines
Health and Safety Executive
Daniel House
Trinity Road
L20 7HE

Updated 2010-09-15