This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

Safety and health in mines research advisory board

Annual Review 2002



Mr D Mitchell, HM Chief Inspector of Mines.
Industry Representative Members
Mr I Parker, National Association of Colliery Overmen, Deputies and Shotfirers;
Mr R Young, President, the British Association of Colliery Management;
Mr N Greatrex, President, the Union of Democratic Mineworkers;
Mr A Galloway, Managing Director, UK Coal Mining Ltd;
Mr D Flack, Chairman, the Federation of Independent Mines;
Mr R Dow, Scottish Coal Ltd
Mr G Underwood, Coal Mining Contractors Association;
Adviser members
Dr D J Buchanan, Chief Executive, Health and Safety Laboratory;
Mr A Miller, Head of Mining Policy, HSE;
Mr R G Siddall, Past President of the Institution of Mining Engineers;
Dr R Quinlan, Medical Director, Business Health Care Ltd;
Prof N Jones, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Liverpool;
Dr R Stace, Department of Mineral Resources Engineering, University of Nottingham;
Mr W E Hindmarsh, Managing Director, Rock Mechanics Technology Ltd;
Mr P Deakin, Director General, Association of British Mining Equipment Companies.
Others who contributed to SHMRAB meetings during 2002
Mr A Allsop, Union of Democratic Mineworkers
Mr L Hilton, Scottish Coal Ltd;
Dr D Bigby, Manager, Instrumentation and Research, Rock Mechanics Technology Ltd
Dr P Holmes, British Gypsum Ltd
Mr G Gilmour, HM Inspector of Mines, Technical Secretary to SMRAB;
Mr N Hill, HSE, Minutes Secretary to SMRAB;

SHMRAB Secretariat
HM Inspectorate of Mines
Health and Safety Executive
St Anne's House
Stanley Precinct
L20 3RA

Updated 2009-05-21